Destrehan Plantation Banner
Home Visit History Exhibits Private Events Store Layout

Travel from the French and Spanish Colonial periods through the antebellum grandeur of the sugar barons, to the ravages of Civil War and the rebirth of reconstruction. Family stories set against the fabric of history will intrigue and entertain every visitor to the site.

Wandering among the authentic buildings on the plantation after the tour of the lovingly restored main house, you can find yourself immersed in the rich history of Louisiana and better understand what it is like to live in another time, when French was the language and the white gold of sugar drove the economy.

Latest News

Open for guided tours each day from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Admission is $18 for adults and $7 for ages 6-17.

Demonstration Schedule:

Monday-April 7-Blacksmith

Tuesday-April 8-Carpentry

Wednesday-April 9-Open Hearth Cooking

Thursday-April 10-Open Hearth Cooking

Friday-April 11-African American Herbal Remedies

Saturday-April 12-Weaving

Sunday-April 13-Family Artifacts

Monday-April 14-Blacksmith

Tuesday-April 15-Bousillage

Wednesday-April 16-Open Hearth Cooking

Thursday-April 17-Open Hearth Cooking

Friday-April 18-Carpentry

Saturday-April 19-Weaving

Sunday-April 20-Family Artifacts

We are completely booked for weddings in 2014, but are booking now for weddings in 2015. 

For more information, email us at destplan@aol.com or call us at 985-764-9315.

An appointment is necessary to view our wedding facilities.
 

Beginning Friday, January 31, we will have tours in French available for our visitors on Mondays and Fridays, from 11 a.m. until 4 p.m.

French tours will also be available on other days, with advance reservations.

Registration is now open for school groups to attend our Heritage Day at Destrehan Plantation on Tuesday, April 29 from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Heritage Day provides students the opportunity to observe, participate, and learn folk-life arts depicting the self-sufficient life of long ago.  Students learn about various cultures woven into our Louisiana Heritage.

Exhibits and demonstrations include Doll Making, Duck Carving, Calligraphy, Irons, Woodworking, Bousillage, Blacksmithing, Quilting, Pottery, Herbal Healing of Early African Americans, 18th and 19th Century Dancing and lots more.

Pre-registration is required for school groups.  The event is also open to the public.  Cost of admission is $7 per student and adults and includes all demonstrations, exhibits, highlights and appearances by historical sites.  A tour of Destrehan Plantation is an additional $5.00 per person.

To register your school group or for more information call the plantation office at 985-764-9315.


Events



PLEASE NOTE: The brochure download requires Adobe Acrobat Reader to view.

Click here to view our privacy policy.

About Destrehan Plantation

Education

Like us on Facebook

Photo Galleries

Download Brochure

Bottom Navigation Bar

Destrehan Plantation | 13034 River Road | Destrehan, Louisiana 70047 | 1-877-453-2095